National Cowboy Hall of Fame

Oklahoma City, OK

(405) 478-2250

Prix de West Exhibition and Sale


A partial listing of sculptors for the event includes Shirley Thompson-Smith, Gerald Balciar, Grant Speed, Mehl Lawson, Ken Bunn, John Free, Richard Greeves, and Glenna Goodacre. Goodacre sculpted the 7-foot bronze of Ronald Reagan which was unveiled at the museum's Western Heritage Awards in April.

Among returning painters are William Acheff, Duane Bryers, Bob Kuhn, James Reynolds, Kenneth Riley, Morris Rippel, Dan Gerhartz, Clyde Aspevig, Terri Kelly Moyers, John Moyers, Howard Terpning, Tucker Smith and Martin Grelle.

Artists and nationally known art scholars will conduct seminars both days in the museum's Sam Noble Special Events Center. Art demonstrations will take place Saturday afternoon on the Western States Plaza and in the Hall's Nona Jean Hulsey Rumsey Art Education Center

The highlight of the weekend is the unveiling of The Prix de West Award during the seminar luncheon on Saturday. Selected for purchase by the Hall for its permanent art collection, the Prix de West Award is highly coveted. The Saturday evening sale will begin with a cocktail reception at 5:00 p.m. Drawings for sale of art will take place at 6:30 p.m. At 7:30 p.m. following the sale, an awards banquet will be held in the Sam Noble Special Events Center.


Above Left: Duane Bryers, Before TV, 24 x 20 inches, oil on canvas; Above Right: Kenneth R. Bunn, The Eavesdropper-Coyote, 10 3/4 x 7 x 17 inches, bronze

Next Page...

rev. 11/26/10

Search Resource Library for thousands of articles and essays on American art.

Copyright 2010 Traditional Fine Arts Organization, Inc., an Arizona nonprofit corporation. All rights reserved.