The National Academy's 1997 Annual Gala

by Heidi Rosenau


This year's event was on May 21 and we honored President and CEO of Sotheby's Diana D. Brooks. She is pictured (left) receiving a gift from our new Director, Dr. Annette Blaugrund (right). The gift was a work by Will Barnet, N.A. The sold-out event (cocktails and sit-down dinner) was a wonderful success. Proceeds benefited the Academy's exhibition and educational programs.

Among the approximate two hundred guests present at the event were artists Wayne Thiebaud, Wolf Kahn, Gerson Leiber (gala-co-Chairman and board member) and William King (the Academy's President). Collectors attending included Alice Manoogian, Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Horowitz. Sotheby's representatives included A. Alfred Taubman, principal of Sotheby's, William Stahl, Diana Phillips, Hugh Hildesley. Museum directors present included Charles Ryskamp, Director of the Frick Collection. Other art world individuals attending were Arthur Altschul, F. Donald Kenney, event Vice-Chairman and on the Academy's board, Judith Leiber, a leading designer and gala co-Chairman, Debra J. Force, Mr. and Mrs. Cordover, Mrs. Albert Lippert, Frederick Melhado, Rosita Sarnoff, designer Sylvia Weinstock and J. Steven Manolis, an Academy board member.

On the evening of the Gala, we also inaugurated the Academy's "adopt-a-painting" program, a wonderful new program that allows us to further our efforts at conserving the collection. The photo below features a guest on the left with our Chief Conservator, Lucie Kinsolving, on the right, discussing a work selected for the program.

Photos by Star Black

Heidi Rosenau is Director of Communications at the National Academy


Be sure to see the exhibition articles for the National Academy.


rev. 11/22/10

Search for more articles and essays on American art in Resource Library.

This page was originally published August 11,1997 in Resource Library Magazine. Please see Resource Library's Overview section for more information.

Copyright 2012 Traditional Fine Arts Organization, Inc., an Arizona nonprofit corporation. All rights reserved.